Wolfgang Kleinwaechter — University of Aarhus

Wolfgang Kleinwaechter is Professor Emeritus for Internet Policy and Regulation at the Department for Media and Information Studies of the University of Aarhus in Denmark.

He is involved in Internet Governance issues since the early 1990s and has participated in more than 50 ICANN meetings where he served in different roles, inter alia as chair of the Nominating Committee (NomCom) and member of the GNSO Council. From 2013 – 2015 he was a voting member in the ICANN Board of Directors.

In the WSIS process he was a member of the WSIS Civil Society Bureau. He co- founded and co-chaired the WSIS Civil Society Internet Governance Caucus
(IGC) in 2002/2003. In 2004 he was appointed by UN Secretary General Kofi Annan as a member of the UN Working Group on Internet Governance (WGIG). He served as Personal Adviser to the chair of the IGF-MAG, Nitin Desai, from
2006 to 2010 and was a member of the UNCSTD Working Group on IGF Improvement
(2011 – 2013).

In the European Union he chaired the Inter-Regional Information Society Initiative (IRISI) in 1995 and the evaluation team of the EU Safer Internet Action Plan (SIAP) from 2003 – 2006. He was member of the Steering Committee of the FP7 Research project Network of the Future (EURO-NF) where he chaired the subgroup on Internet of Things in the EU IOT Task Force under the EU Commissioner Nelly Kroes.

In 2009 he was appointed by the Council of Europe to chair the “Cross Border Internet Expert Group” which drafted the Ministerial Declaration on Internet
Governance Principles, adopted in 2011.

He testified in hearings in the European Parliament and German Bundestag.
His research work includes more than 150 international publications, including eleven books, on issues of Broadcasting Legislation, Global Information Society, Internet Governance and WSIS. He is founder and chair of the “Summer School on Internet Governance” (SSIG).

He served also a member of several advisory boards of scientific journals, including “Transnational Data and Communication Report”, “Computer Law and Security Report”, “Communications Law: The Journal of Computer, Media and Telecommunication Law” and “The International Communication Gazette”.

To speakers list